Stars come out for Captain Fantastic

Last night Lewes FC hosted Kelly Newton’s Testimonial, Lewes Ladies FC v an All Star XI
Legendary manager Jacquie Agnew and former coach Dave Cole returned to the dugouts as the stars came out to honour long-serving Lewes captain Kelly Newton.

Former players like Clare Trafford, Charlotte Bennett, Tammy Waine, Michelle Beazley and Katie Baker returned to grace the Dripping Pan. A surprisingly competitive contest saw a hat-trick from MvP Kirstie Spice, goals from Ellie Lock and Ellie Millington and a terrific top-corner penalty from the woman of the hour. Newton played the full game, 45 minutes for each team.

The match was sponsored by Spectrum Eyecare. Over £500 was raised on the night for Kelly’s chosen charity, Cystic Fibrosis
Attendance: 150

 

Kelly Pic
What a night, what a player.
Captain fantastic Kelly Newton, applauded onto the pitch by team-mates past and present. The testimonial match ended 3-3, with Kelly playing 45 minutes for each side and scoring a (very well taken) penalty.

Over £500 was raised on the night for Kelly’s chosen charity, Cystic Fibrosis.

Photo: James Boyes

 

A link to the our very special program.

Kelly Newton Legend 6 Program

 

A little more: Kelly in quotes

Kelly in Quotes.

A little more Kelly in Quotes …

 

‘Kelly can score from anywhere, as long as it’s between 2 and 12 inches from the goal line.

If you get injured, don’t expect any sympathy from Kelly. She’s only interested in getting on with the game.’

Clare Trafford

 

Funnily enough Kelly Newton rarely wins MvP. This is, in my opinion, because her level never drops, so it never looks like she’s having a particularly impressive game. She does the little things so well you barely notice, but on the are occasion she’s not there – I can’t remember the last one! – you notice.

 

She is one of the finest players I’ve seen in the Red and Black of Lewes, male or female, and the most consistent player I’ve seen in this league.’

Rookmeister

 

‘Norwich Away 2011/12. I was playing at left back so had the perfect view of Kelly’s ‘overhead kick’. I’ve never seen anyone of that age get their leg so high! The fact that I was on the floor at the time and the pitch was on a hill suggests that she didn’t raise her leg as high as first thought….’

 

‘I had the pleasure of sitting next to Kelly in the changing room for 4/5 years. I couldn’t think of a better person to look up to and learn from. She has had a massive influence on my football and to this day although no longer playing alongside her, her philosophies are embedded in me. I truly miss playing and training with her week in week out.’

Steph Carter

 

‘For three and a half seasons it was a pleasure to work with and alongside Kels, for me the epitome of a true leader on and off the pitch, my fondest memory was a game against Charlton at home we were 1-0 down and we weren`t really clicking, a Charlton player was injured and Kelly called all the girls in and in true Phil Brown style gave a speech that transformed the players to go on and win 2-1, that is Kelly all over.

 

Another time Kelly wasn`t well and I brought her on for the last 15 mins – well, 12, really. I know she still hasn`t forgiven me for that. She wants to play, no matter what. When they say all players are replaceable, I believe Kelly is one exception to this rule. If they do find another, the club will have an incredible player for the future.

Dave Cole

 

The most exciting – and potentially dangerous – thing we share is having a hot cup of Horlicks the evening of a particularly tough game. You cannot underestimate the sheer thrill of dunking your biscuit until it reaches maximum softness, but extracting and eating it before it breaks off and lands in your lap….or worse: your mug.

 

I’d like to express what Kelly means to me as a player, captain and friend. I have played for numerous teams in my football career and I feel fortunate to not only have been invited to play for Lewes, but to have been welcomed so nicely and captained so effectively by the woman to whom this evening is dedicated. To play under someone so passionate gives one a real appreciation for what football is all about.

 

Kelly “bleeds red and black”. She embodies what Lewes FC is all about. The football, the fans, the community, the players, the staff and ultimately passion for the game as a whole. It is an absolute privilege to have been captained by her. I would love to have the chance to be captained by and play on the same team as her again in the future.

Michelle Beazley

Author: stuartnoel

Nearly prize winning author of Passport to Football, Budget Airline Football and European Football - A Fans Guide.